Simply Delicious! 12 Minute Vegetable Soup

19235926_c3ee826383_z

Hello Everyone! Again, it’s been a while since I’ve posted. Clearly a symptom of having way too many careers going at once, but I’m back to share with you a recipe that I have been making at least 3 times a week for the past month. It’s started getting very chilly here in England, and I need something low histamine, wheat free, hearty and quick to fill my tummy on those cold days when I’m busy. Mind you, this is one of the most forgiving recipes in history. There are no rules, you can add exactly the veg that YOU like…whatever makes you feel good and healthy. Just use this as a template and experiment! Here’s my process…

1 tablespoon oil of your choice (olive, sunflower, butter…whatever agrees with your system)
1 onion minced
2 cloves garlic minced
1 courgette roughly chopped
2 medium potatoes chopped
1 carrot chopped
1/4 cup frozen veg (I use peas and corn)
4-5 large leaves of fresh basil (you can use dried if you need to about 1/2 teaspoon)
Boiled water to cover
1/2 teaspoon salt and a tiny amount of coarse pepper if it agrees with you

Quickly chop and mince all the veg. Meanwhile, boil a kettle of water…enough to cover your veg.  About 1 1/2 litres (6 cups) should suffice. Add your oil into and put on medium heat. Add veg and saute for 1 minute. Add salt, pepper and basil and then cover with water. Heat should be on med-high. Boil for 7-10 minutes and Voila! Yum! I crumble organic oat cakes in mine, but feel free to top yours with your favourite soup accompaniment! Enjoy! (obviously the time this soup takes depends on how quickly you chop vegetables! It takes me 12 minutes as I’m quick with a knife, but I promise it will still be a fast meal even if you’re not! x)

Most of the photos on this blog are licensed through creative commons. Thanks to Dey for the use of this lovely photo and click on the link to see more!

6 thoughts on “Simply Delicious! 12 Minute Vegetable Soup

  1. Pingback: TOO MUCH Magazine
    • Lo. says:

      Gosh, I missed this comment! Sorry about that. Yes, as I’m sure you’ve known for a while, a courgette is a zucchini. x

Leave a Reply

